Uncategorized

Designing Online Visuals

Since I spend a lot of time on Pinterest, I’ve always wondered how people make the cute visuals that catch your eye enough to check out the pin. Since there’s so many of them I figured, “it can’t be that hard, right?” I never put in the effort to try and figure out how to make an eye-catching visual. With the help of my instructor, I got a kick-start to finding out exactly how to make visuals used for everyday and in the classroom. Canva and Piktochart are great websites to get a non-hassle start on personal visual. All through my educational career I’ve used Microsoft Word and Microsoft PowerPoint for assignments and presentations. Through this time, I’ve come to navigate my way around comfortably. In my early college years, I was recommended Prezi. Prezi gives a new twist to boring presentations, and gives you a lot of options as far as design. The focus of Canva and Piktochart is to create high-quality visual aids. I wish I had known about these two websites in high school and in the beginning of my college career. These will be extremely helpful for 3rd teacher references in my classroom, and for field trip slips, fundraisers, beginning of the year classroom policy, posters, and school events.

Jazz Night EXAMPLE
Canva.com

Here is an example that I created using Canva. I really enjoyed the website, it’s easy to navigate and self-explanatory. The only thing I would recommend that the website changed is the free templates. There are some that have a fee to use, along with free ones. I couldn’t find any way to filter just to the free ones, as they were mixed with the ones with the fee. However I did find very flattering designs and graphics as well.

Below is an example from Piktochart. This example is based on my ILP. Signing up for a standard account, all templates offered are free, unless you want to upgrade for more templates with a charging fee. There are plenty of template themes and designs available to edit for the creation you want. Or, you can start from a plain standard template. There are three categories to choose from while making a visual—an infographic (web design), presentation, or printable. You can upload pictures from your computer or you can choose from the graphics offered.

new-piktochart_548_b7d5de4ff35e8d772b51d9c4c02d18f6315987db

8 thoughts on “Designing Online Visuals”

  1. Being a male, I will go ahead and say yes I have Pinterest. I will also say that I really like Pinterest, but you talked about the catchy visuals that you see when you scroll through and how it draws you in. This is the reason that I like the app. Visuals draw you in and all of us will use tools like this in our classroom.

    Like

  2. I love your visuals! You seem like the type of person who would do wonders with Photoshop after seeing these posters! I do love that both of these websites could be fairly easy to introduce to our students too… although lower elementary may be a little more challenging. Do you think you would use these in your classroom? If so which site?

    Like

    1. I would definitely use them as a 3rd teacher resource in my classroom, such as classroom expectations, vocab, equations, etc. As far as lower elementary, you could give students materials such as colored pencils, crayons, markers…and ask them their ideas of how to create a poster or resource. Using their ideas, put together something that represents their creativity!

      Like

  3. Cool graphics!! I love how you gave an example of creations from both Canva and Piktochart. While I explored both briefly, I only created a graphic using Canva. I have also wondered how Pinterest users make their pins look so attractive, and now I know! I had no idea that creating something like this could be so simple! I am so glad that I now have an introductory experience and am excited to use them in my future classroom!

    Like

Leave a Reply

