Uncategorized

A Fish, Toddler, and Me

pebble design
Pebble Design

Did you know that goldfish have a longer attention span than people? According to Time “The average attention span for the notoriously ill-focused goldfish is nine seconds, but according to a new study from Microsoft Corp., people now generally lose concentration after eight seconds, highlighting the affects of an increasingly digitalized lifestyle on the brain.” I’m not too sure about you, but my attention span is something near the scenario of a toddler in Disneyland. Back in high school, my parents joked that it took me about 3 days to clean my room (literally). I would fold my clothes that had been piled up for about a month and find a piece of paper in my pocket. I would go to throw the paper away and realize I needed a trashcan in my room. At the store, I would buy a cute photo album on sale. When I got home I would dig up pictures to put inside of it. My life is kind of like the mouse in Laura Numeroff’s book If You Give a Mouse a Cookie.

Given the experience to keep track of my attention span was very amusing. Writing this now I’ve had distractions with my puppy, boyfriend, laundry, and eating cereal. Doing this experiment has really helped me manage my time. Now that I’m conscious about distractions interfering with my focus, I’m able to veer my attention back on track. One thing I notice is that I tend to zone out at times. I do this when I’m bored, tired, or don’t understand. I zoned out a lot in classes, as a personal tip to avoid this, I would always try to take detailed notes. Fast Company gives us 8 tips of their own on how to improve our attention span. Meditation, exercise, staying hydrated, asking questions, listening to music (classical), drinking tea, taking notes by hand, and chewing gum are some quick ways to improve focus.

My attention online I feel is very uncategorized. If I’m browsing through social media I look at my updated feed, and check out what everyone is up to. However, there are adds, links, posts, articles, and pictures to weave through. While I’m online doing homework, I feel as though I can direct my attention back to what I need to be doing. While I’ve been browsing online, I find that more often than not I’m usually in bed or on the treadmill when I check my social media. My weekdays are typically pretty busy with work and homework, and by that time of day that I’m exercising or relaxing is when I tend to automatically check my accounts of social media.

2 thoughts on “A Fish, Toddler, and Me”

  1. Great post! The example you gave explaining your attention span made me laugh because I can totally related. You gave some really great tips on how to improve concentration, and I will for sure have to try them out. Thanks for sharing. 🙂
    Haley

    Like

Leave a Reply

