Uncategorized

Midterm Reflection

When this course began, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. My first initial thought on Literacy in the Digital Age (ENG 361) when registering, was that it’s some sort of English class (hence the word literacy). I was pleased and a little anxious to find out that we would be exploring a deeper understanding for the digital world. Being in college, I thought I had a proficient knowledge of popular apps, social media sites, and websites; even though I don’t have very many of them. I initially got my first Twitter account when I was a Sophomore in college. I was taking a spring course called Technology for Teachers, and an assignment was that we had to activate a Twitter account and tweet 5 tweets. I never got rid of it because I heard that there was a course for my degree that I had to take that required it. I never signed into it for about a year, and then Digital Literacy began! I was a bit skeptical about Twitter at first, mostly because I had no idea how to work it. Luckily my roommate came in handy and gave me the 101 on the well-known social media app. One thing that has blown me away is the amount of resources available on Twitter. I had no idea that so many people used Twitter as an advantage towards higher learning (for educational use).

The most interesting module so far has been week 5. It’s been the module that has benefit me the most. I was confused on what a personal learning network (PLN) is; I thought it was something you had to join! With some exploring and researching I found out that it’s a way of thinking. I thought it was something you had to sign up for or subscribe to, but it’s focused on where you inherit your time towards. I don’t follow a single friend on Twitter just for the fact that I dedicate my account towards my learning of education and technology and want to keep it professional. I will most likely never get a personal Twitter account, because I have other social media accounts to keep in touch with people such as Facebook, Instagram, and Pinterest.

The challenging module was week 5 as well. With expanding my personal learning network, it was very time consuming. A lot of education-based accounts were not as dedicated as I had hoped to find. Some were too political or opinionated, which is fine it just wasn’t what I was looking for. Since then I’ve followed, unfollowed, retweeted, and commented many users. My biggest highlight was Laura Numeroff tweeting me! img_0076
I’ve loved her children’s books since I was a kid. She’s the author of If You Give a Pig a Pancake, If You Give a Moose a Muffin, If You Take a Mouse to School, and so many more! I was also (and still am) confused on the daily creates in module 7, so if you have any tips and tricks feel free to comment them below! As far as the 2nd half of the semester goes, I hope to learn more about how to incorporate technology into lesson plans. How could this help students? How can technology help the classroom? How can teachers teach students to use safe, reliable, and trust worthy sources? With much opportunity in technology and communication comes risk. Not everyone on the internet is targeting a learning experience.

2 thoughts on “Midterm Reflection”

  1. Oh. My. Word. How cool to connect with Laura Numeroff, like that! That’s wonderful! And you may have already figured this out from reviewing Module 7, but… on the “daily create” just remember that once you start perusing the website, you can pick your assignment creations from thousands of options. The main website is http://daily.ds106.us/ and if you don’t want to do the new “daily create” they offer each day on the main page, you can always go up to the top, click on “Find TDCs,” and choose from Audio, Animated, Drawing, Photography, Video, or Writing. For our course, you’ll do 30 straight days of these and at least 2 of each type (2 audio creates, 2 video creates, 2 writing creates, 2 drawing creates, and 2 photography creates). So with the remaining 20 creates, you can do whichever ones you like most. These can be a lot of fun once you get into it. Have a great second half of the semester!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

