Uncategorized

My Long Lost Best Friend

fullsizerender-1
Chief sponsoring Home Depot

Thursday I ventured out to Home Depot with my puppy, Chief. We searched and collected items that I had made a list for: a painter’s tool, frog tape, putty spacula, Krud Kutter, After Wash, Citristrip Stripping Gel, wood filler, Polycrylic, and a 1 quart mixing cup.

img_0046
My completed materials list from Home Depot

It was cold and snowy in Sheridan, so I decided if I was going to do anything it was going to be in the garage. I’ve found and saved a few pieces of furniture over time. I just got this little night stand on Wednesday, yay!

I was super excited to try this Citristrip stripping gel! On Home Depot’s website, this is the product description for a better idea of what exactly it is.

“Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel removes layers of paint, both latex and oil-based paint. It’s also effective at removing varnish, shellac, and epoxy in 1 step. The stripper has a pleasant citrus scent and is biodegradable. Most important is that it’s safe for indoor use.

  • Can be used on wood, metal, and masonry
  • Gel stays wet and active for up to 24 hours
  • Non-toxic
  • Non-corrosive
  • Works in 30 minutes
  • For best results, use in temperatures between 65˚ and 85˚F and away from strong breeze and hot sun
  • See label for complete instructions”

(Home Depot)

I read the directions, which was to pour the gel into an aluminum pan (I used a glass Mason jar) and to apply a generous amount on the surface with a thick paint img_0064brush. The gel didn’t smell overbearing or headache-inviting, which was nice because I had the garage door closed. I applied a layer to all 3 pieces of furniture. Since I was doing one, mind as well do them all since I was already dirty and had all the supplies out. The directions said to wait a minimum of 30 minutes up to 24 hours. After waiting a half hour, I got my putty spacula and started gently scraping the surface of the wood. I looked like peeling a facemask off your math, or peeling a sunburn (kinda gross). It came off super smooth! My first thought was why in the world did I not learn about this earlier??? Here is a picture of the aftermath of Citristrip, down to the bare wood! My next step is to put After Wash on the surface- to remove any remaining product.

Below I included pictures of the few pieces I’m going to use for my ILP. Once I scrape off any remaining product (thanks to my new BFF Citristrip), I can begin the fun part of prepping for the post-makeover!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “My Long Lost Best Friend”

  1. Madison,
    I think that it is so cool that you like to repair old things to make them new again. (And your puppy is adorable) Wood working was one of my favorite class in high school. I thought that wood that was varnished to look naturally was the best way to do it.
    Great Post!
    Mikahla

    Like

Leave a Reply

