Uncategorized

Furniture Makeovers

wood-_texture1584
Bgfons

This week I did more reading than anything. I had a full-on case of the flu Thursday and Friday so my body was not up to anything that involved being vertical. In my past posts about my ILP, I had introduced the book  A Touch of Farmhouse Charm by Liz Fourez. While sipping on 7-UP and nibbling on saltine crackers, I took the opportunity to read my second book, Furniture Makeovers by Barb Blair. While reading this, I had no idea on how much I was missing! This book is extremely informational in my ILP, and I feel like it will be a guide on how to prepare my foundation on this experience.

Like Farmhouse Charm, this book also has a supplies list. With this supplies list, Blair explains how to use the tools and how to apply them. Before the content starts, Blair lists her tools used for every project-her necessities. Here is a list of the tools/materials recommended:

[the bullets indented are ones that are new to me]

  • Chalk paint
    • After wash: It’s used for cleaning and preparing a surface after “stripping.”
  • Danish oil
  • Gloves
  • Measuring cup
    • Citristrip: a natural, biodegradable stripping agent to remove layers of paint or old varnish from a piece of furniture before applying a new finish.
    • Latex paint: a water-based paint that provides great coverage.
    • Milk paint: gives an authentic finish like crackle.
    • Odorless mineral spirits: a general-purpose thinner for oil-based stains and finishes.
  • Paint trays
  • Paintbrushes
    • Polyurethane: a clear, fast drying finish used to protect both the porous wood and the painted surfaces in furniture projects.
  • Rollers
  • Shop towels
  • Stains
    • Bondo All-Purpose Putty: wood filler for repairs made on wood
    • Fiddes Wax: recommended on chalk paint and milk paint, used for a beautiful shine
  • Gorilla glue
  • Mod Podge
  • Wallpaper paste
  • Wood glue
  • Bolt cutters
  • Craft knives
  • Metal file
  • Rulers
  • Sanders (orbital and belt)
  • Wire brush
  • Clamps
  • Putty spatula
  • Compressor (for nail gun)
  • Drill
  • Overhead projector (used for tracing designs)

I have a lot of these things sitting in my garage, so this week my goal is to gather these supplies:

  • After wash
  • Citristrip
  • Polyurethane
  • Wood filling
  • Putty spatula
  • Possibly an orbital sander

 

With these tools, I’m excited to try and “strip” previous paints and varnishes to the few pieces of wood furniture I’ve held off for projects. YouTube will probably be my how-to guide, but I’m excited to give this process a go!

6 thoughts on “Furniture Makeovers”

  1. I love DIY books! It is just amazing the things that can be created, with a little imagination of course! 🙂 If you hadn’t of been sick, you might have missed on this great read! Excited to see your projects coming to reality, once you start feeling better. Good luck!
    Val

    Like

  2. While I know the prep time and gathering of supplies always take a while, I’m really looking forward to seeing some of your projects in action. My grandfather was an antiques dealer and he was constantly paid to refinish beautiful pieces that had been damaged. I’m sad I didn’t get a chance to learn more about his dying art. He’s 96 now and no longer in the workshop, sadly. Anyway, you have my hooked — gotta see what’s up your sleeve, next week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

